<nav id="ey46a"></nav>
  • <xmp id="ey46a"><menu id="ey46a"></menu>
    <input id="ey46a"><tt id="ey46a"></tt></input>
  • <input id="ey46a"><tt id="ey46a"></tt></input>
  • <menu id="ey46a"></menu>
    Skip to Content

    We can trace the roots of our organization back a century into the history of Chicago, to the origins of Poetry magazine and to its founder Harriet Monroe. It is her vision that informs the work we do every day. But there is also a second woman—really a second founder—whose philanthropy has made everything the Foundation does possible. Ruth Lilly, in bestowing on poetry a significant portion of her personal wealth, ensured that Harriet Monroe’s desire to celebrate and discover the best poetry will continue long into the magazine’s second century. The Foundation, whose mission commits it to a more vigorous presence for poetry in our culture, has pursued this through a family of programs, all realized with Ms. Lilly’s generous gift. Harriet Monroe and Ruth Lilly were two women of the Midwest for whom poetry was a passion central to life itself. We celebrate their lasting gifts every day and share them with you through our work.

    Office of the President

    Kathleen Coughlin, CFO, VP for Finance and Administration
    Maris Maeve O’Tierney, President’s Assistant and Secretary to the Board

    Finance & Administration

    Krystal Languell, Finance and Administration Director
    Nevertha Brooks, Finance Associate
    Angelica Flores, Receptionist and Fiscal Assistant

    Programs & Community Engagement

    Ydalmi Noriega, Director of Programs and Community Engagement
    Justine Haka, Program Manager
    Itzel Blancas, Program Assistant
    Alex Benjamin, Building and Events Manager
    Noah Fields, Events and Logistics Assistant
    Meg Forajter, Poetry Ambassador
    Michael Keating, Poetry Ambassador
    Me’Chelle Robinson, Poetry Ambassador
    Evalena Friedman, Poetry Ambassador
    Akilah Muhammad, Poetry Ambassador

    Digital Programs

    Harlan Wallach, Chief Technology Officer and Director of Digital Programs
    James Sitar, Senior Editor
    Jeremy Lybarger, Features Editor
    Shoshana Olidort, Web Editor
    Janet Cheung, Web Producer
    Michelle Martinez, Permissions Coordinator


    Katherine Litwin, Library Director and Exhibitions Cocurator
    Maggie Queeney, Library Associate
    Stefania Gomez, Education and Youth Services Assistant


    Sarah Whitcher, Media and Marketing Director
    Liz O’Connell-Thompson, Senior Media Associate
    Emily Bieniek, Media Assistant
    Hannah Kucharzak, Marketing and Production Assistant

    Poetry Magazine

    Fred Sasaki, Art Director and Exhibitions Cocurator, Interim Coeditor
    Lindsay Garbutt, Interim Coeditor
    Holly Amos, Interim Coeditor
    Hannah Kucharzak, Marketing and Production Assistant
    Meaghan Winston, Digital Magazine Producer

    Honorary Trustee

    Ruth Lilly

    American poetry has no greater friend than Ruth Lilly. Over many years and in many ways, it has been blessed by her personal generosity. In 1985 she endowed the Ruth Lilly Professorship in Poetry at Indiana University.

    In 1986 she established the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. Awarded annually, the $100,000 prize honors a living US poet whose lifetime accomplishments warrant extraordinary recognition. In 1989 she created two Ruth Lilly Fellowships, for $15,000 each, given annually by the Poetry Foundation to undergraduate or graduate students selected through a national competition. In 2002 her lifetime engagement with poetry culminated in a magnificent bequest that will enable the Poetry Foundation to promote, in perpetuity, a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture.

    Poetry Foundation Trustees

    Visit Us

    61 West Superior Street
    Chicago, IL 60654


    Notice to Visitors

    Read our statement on the coronavirus (COVID-19)

    Please Note

    Building Closures:

    Our building is closed for the remainder of 2020. Stay connected with us online.